Trudeau wins majority in federal election, unseating Tories

Oct 20, 2015 | National, NEWS | 0 comments

Justin Trudeau has become Canada’s 23rd Prime Minister following a landslide victory in last night’s federal election. Trudeau’s Liberals rose from third-place status to win a majority government with 184 seats in Parliament, defeating Stephen Harper after a decade of power. Harper’s Conservatives will now form the official opposition with 99 seats. The New Democrats under Tom Mulcair won 44 seats. Trudeau thanked supporters in his Papineau riding in Quebec after his victory. Harper will step down as Conservative leader following his defeat, but will remain as MP for Calgary Heritage. Mulcair held on to his Quebec riding of Outremont and will stay as NDP leader, despite his party finishing third. The Bloc Québécois, led by Gilles Duceppe, placed fourth with 10 seats in Ottawa. Green Party leader Elizabeth May was re-elected in Saanich-Gulf Islands in British Columbia – the party’s only seat in Parliament.
(Image source: CBC)

Stay connected to G98.7FM all day every day with our G987 app available in Android and iPhone applications for your listening pleasure!


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *