Windies name 20-man squad for Test series against England

Mar 25, 2015 | Cricket, Sports | 0 comments

The West Indies have named a 20-man squad training for the three-Test series against England next month. This will be the first job for new head coach Phil Simmons since he left Ireland last week. Opening batsman Chris Gayle won’t take part because of constant back pain. However, Darren Bravo is included, playing for the first time since his World Cup hamstring injury. Carlos Brathwaite and Miguel Cummins enter their first Test campaigns, and making their international debut are wicketkeeper-batsmen Shai Hope and Shane Dowrich. Guyanese bowling duo Devendra Bishoo and Veerasammy Permaul will be there too. The first Test starts April 13 at North Sound in Antigua.
West Indies squad: Sulieman Benn, Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Sheldon Cottrell, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Leon Johnson, Veerasammy Permaul, Denesh Ramdin (captain), Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Devon Smith, Jerome Taylor
(Image source: BBC)

Stay connected to G98.7FM all day every day with our G987 app available in Android and iPhone applications for your listening pleasure!


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *