New PM Trudeau, cabinet ministers sworn in at Rideau Hall

Nov 4, 2015 | NEWS | 0 comments

Canada’s new Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and his cabinet were officially sworn in at a ceremony this morning in Ottawa. The Prime Minister arrived at Rideau Hall with a 30-member Liberal cabinet; half of them are women, and 7 are from ridings in the GTA. For the first time ever, the public was invited to gather outside the Governor General’s mansion, as giant screens were set up on the grounds to watch the proceedings. Trudeau took the oath of office, effectively making him the country’s 23rd Prime Minister. GTA representatives include: John McCallum for Immigration, Citizenship and Refugees; Carolyn Bennett for Indigenous and Northern Affairs; Navdeep Bains for Innovation, Science and Economic Development; Finance Minister Bill Morneau; Chrystia Freeland for International Trade; Health Minister Jane Philpott; and Kirsty Duncan for Science. Another cabinet member sworn in was Indian-born National Defence Minister Harjit Sajjan of BC. Alberta MP Amarjeet Sohi, also born in India, is Minister of Infrastructure and Communities. Maryam Monsef, born in Afghanistan, was named Minister of Democratic Institutions. The ceremony was also attended by family, friends and dignitaries including former Prime Ministers Jean Chrétien and John Turner, as well as former Governors General Michaëlle Jean and Adrienne Clarkson. The first cabinet meeting under Trudeau was held this afternoon, right after the ceremony.
(Image source: 680 News)

Stay connected to G98.7FM all day every day with our G987 app available in Android and iPhone applications for your listening pleasure!


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *